- Post Punk Kitchen – Vegan Recipes & Awesomeness - http://www.theppk.com -

The PPK 100 For 2012

Posted By IsaChandra On February 26, 2013 @ 8:22 am In Uncategorized | 84 Comments

Now that the Oscars are over we can get to the list everyone’s really been waiting for…it’s the PPK100 for 2012!  (The list is down there somewhere under this epic image.)

Vegan food was fun, cheesy, smart, sweet and boozy last year, and we’ve got the products, websites, events, utensils and recipes to prove it. Thank you to Katie Hubbard [1] and Laura Beck [2]for helping to write this year’s entries. This year the number 100 slot is empty, leaving room for everyone that says “BUT YOU FORGOT ABOUT X!” Well, maybe they’ll still make it on.

I compiled the list by asking everyone from my mom to my favorite musicians what inspired them in 2012. I also posed the question on Twitter and Facebook (of course!) so that I could get as much feedback as possible. Since this is the Post Punk Kitchen 100, naturally there are a few items from Terry and I that made it on to the list, but I tried to make it as diverse as possible, giving shoutouts to all of the amazing peeps that made 2012 a delicious year.

The list is in no particular order, #1 isn’t necessarily any more important or better than #47 in our eyes. The main point was just to have some fun. From time to time we link to stuff you can buy on Amazon [3]. If you purchase through those links, the credit will go to supplies for The Teal Cat Project [4].

If you see a mistake or if I accidentally didn’t give credit, please just let me know. And of course let us know what inspired you in 2012. Enjoy!

1) Artisan Vegan Cheese by Miyoko Schinner [5]
2) Cinnamon Snail [6]
3) #veganfoodshare [7]
4) Homemade Liquers [8]
5) Finding Vegan [9]
6) Popcorn Tofu At Wheatsville Coop, Austin TX [10]
7) The Vegetarian Butcher [11]
8) Vegan for Life [12]
9) The Vegan Experience on Serious Eats [13]
10) Compassionate Cake [14]
11) Moms On Facebook Sharing Recipes [15]
12) Eat Pastry [16]
13) The Wynn In Las Vegas [17]
14) Coconut Bacon [18]
15) Veg News Food Photography [19]
16) Raised Donuts [20]
17) Tabby Toffee’s For Teal Cat from Lagusta’s Luscious [21]
18) Chia Pudding [22]
19) The Vegan Shop-Up [23]
20) The Vegan Secret Supper Club [24]
21) Cafe Gratitude in Kansas City [25]
22) Homemade Tempeh [26]
23) VegOut App [27]
24) Soy Not Oi! 2 [28]
25) Shichimi Togarashi [29]
26) Extracting the Teargas Cone of an Onion [30]
27) Beyond Meat [31]
28) Virtual Vegan Potluck [32]
29) Umeboshi paste [33]
30) Jorge Garcia’s and Nooch Toast [34]
31) Epic Vegan Mealtime [35]
32) Kale mojito [36]
33) LA’s Vegan Beer Fest [37]
34) Vegan Fish Sauce [38]
35) Vegan Cupcakes Take Over Toronto [39]
36) Traditional Pickling [40]
37) Spherification & Pearls [41]
38) Treeline Treenut Cheese [42]
39) Seitan Meats Jesus Pizza from PizzaNista [43]
40) Tea Leaf Salad at Burma Superstar [44]
41) Patric Chocolate’s PB&J OMG bar [45]
42) Vegan Food On Buzzfeed [46]
43) Nooch Vegan Market [47]
44) Twix from OCD [48]
45) Daiya Havarti Wedge [49]
46) Native Foods [50]
47) Butternut Alfredo [51]
48) Nut butters in baking [52]
49) Vegan Butter [53]
50) Funny pasta shapes from Amazon [54]
51) Porcini powder [55]
52) Homemade Syrups for Drinks [56]
53) Steve’s Cinnamon Coffee Ice Cream [57]
54) M.A.K.E., Santa Monica [58]
55) Butchering A Lemon [59]
56) Vega One [60]
57) Homemade Kombucha [61]
58) Moscow Mule [62]
59) Toasted Rice Powder [63]
60) Star Anise [64]
61) A Profound Hatred of Meat [65]
62) Keepin’ It Kind [66]
63) Mac And Cheese With Roasted Artichokes at MOB [67]
64) Compost [68]
65) Baker’s Creek Catalog
66) Pretzels In My Ice Cream (Ideally After Midnight) [69]
67) Vintage Spatula [70]
68) Coconut Fiber [71]
69) Chopped Vegan [72]
70) Cookbooks From The Library [73]
71) Manifest Vegan’s Ube Ice Cream [74]
72) Coconut Oil [75]
73) Smoked Olives [76]
74) Green Vegan App [77]
75) Capital City Bakery, Austin TX [78]
76) No Whey Chocolates [79]
77) Vegan Butterfingers [80]
78) Bánh Mì [81]
79) Crushing Seeds In A Garlic Press [82]
80) Homemade Kimchi (Or Not) [83]
81) Victoria Vegan Vodka Sauce [84]
82) Archived Vegetarian Times [85]
83) Boston’s Vegan Corner
84) Raw White Chocolate Bar by Organic Nectars [86]
85) My Drunk Kitchen does Raw Vegan Cheesecake [87]
86) The Vegan Zombie [88]
87) Potato Towers [89]
88) 50 Shades of Kale [90]
89) Carrot Bacon [91]
90) Olives For Dinner [92]
91) Vegan Chocolate Hazelnut Spread [93]
92) Homegrown Kale (Scattered Kale Seeds) [94]
93) Vedge Restaurant, Philly [95]
94) Vegan Richa [96]
95) Blissful Chef’s Cooking Tool of the Month [97]
96) Pumpkin Pie Filled Muffins [98]
97) Aliens Day Out [99]
98) Food Mountain [100]
99) Re-purposing Non-Vegan Kitchen Utensils [101]
100) ?????? You tell us!

Thanks so much for all who participated (in order of appearance)! Troy Farmer [Raven & Crow [102]], Lagusta Umami [Lagusta’s Luscious [103]], Quarrygirl [Quarrygirl [104]], Jason Das [SuperVegan [105]], Sarah Kramer [Sarah’s Place [106]], Laura Beck [Vegansaurus [2]], Jasmin Singer and Mariann Sullivan [OurHenHouse [107]], Terry Hope Romero [Vegan Latina [108]], My Mom [no website], Gabrielle Pope [Vegans on the Move [109]], Mo [Mo Betta Vegan [110]], Jess Sconed [Get Sconed [111]], Lianne Mai-Ly Hilgart [Voute Coutre [112]], Elizabeth Castoria [Veg News [113]], John McDevitt [Laziest Vegans In The World [114]], Stephanie Seabirds [Seabirds Truck [115]]


Article printed from Post Punk Kitchen – Vegan Recipes & Awesomeness: http://www.theppk.com

URL to article: http://www.theppk.com/2013/02/the-post-punk-kitchen-100-2013/

URLs in this post:

[1] Katie Hubbard: http://donteatoffthesidewalk.com/

[2] Laura Beck : http://vegansaurus.com/

[3] Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/?_encoding=UTF8&tag=wwwtheppkcom-20&linkCode=ur2&camp=1789&creative=390957

[4] The Teal Cat Project: http://tealcatproject.com/

[5] 1) Artisan Vegan Cheese by Miyoko Schinner: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/1-artisan-vegan-cheese-by-miyoko-schinner/

[6] 2) Cinnamon Snail: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/2-cinnamon-snail-2/

[7] 3) #veganfoodshare: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/3-veganfoodshare/

[8] 4) Homemade Liquers: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/4-homemade-liquers/

[9] 5) Finding Vegan: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/5-finding-vegan/

[10] 6) Popcorn Tofu At Wheatsville Coop, Austin TX: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/6-popcorn-tofu-at-wheatsville-coop-austin-tx/

[11] 7) The Vegetarian Butcher : http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/7-the-vegetarian-butcher/

[12] 8) Vegan for Life : http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/8-vegan-for-life/

[13] 9) The Vegan Experience on Serious Eats: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/9-the-vegan-experience-on-serious-eats/

[14] 10) Compassionate Cake: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/10-compassionate-cake/

[15] 11) Moms On Facebook Sharing Recipes: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/11-moms-on-facebook-sharing-recipes/

[16] 12) Eat Pastry: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/12-eat-pastry/

[17] 13) The Wynn In Las Vegas: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/13-the-wynn-in-las-vegas/

[18] 14) Coconut Bacon: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/14-coconut-bacon/

[19] 15) Veg News Food Photography: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/15-veg-news-food-photography/

[20] 16) Raised Donuts: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/16-raised-donuts/

[21] 17) Tabby Toffee’s For Teal Cat from Lagusta’s Luscious: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/17-tabby-toffees-for-teal-cat-from-lagustas-luscious/

[22] 18) Chia Pudding: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/18-chia-pudding/

[23] 19) The Vegan Shop-Up: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/19-the-vegan-shop-up/

[24] 20) The Vegan Secret Supper Club: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/20-the-vegan-secret-supper-club/

[25] 21) Cafe Gratitude in Kansas City: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/21-cafe-gratitude-in-kansas-city/

[26] 22) Homemade Tempeh: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/22-homemade-tempeh/

[27] 23) VegOut App: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/23-vegout-app/

[28] 24) Soy Not Oi! 2: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/24-soy-not-oi-2/

[29] 25) Shichimi Togarashi: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/25-shichimi-togarashi/

[30] 26) Extracting the Teargas Cone of an Onion: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/26-extracting-the-teargas-cone-of-an-onion/

[31] 27) Beyond Meat: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/27-beyond-meat/

[32] 28) Virtual Vegan Potluck: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/28-virtual-vegan-potluck/

[33] 29) Umeboshi paste: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/29-umeboshi-paste/

[34] 30) Jorge Garcia’s and Nooch Toast: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/30-jorge-garcia-and-nooch-toast/

[35] 31) Epic Vegan Mealtime: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/31-epic-vegan-mealtime/

[36] 32) Kale mojito: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/32-kale-mojito/

[37] 33) LA’s Vegan Beer Fest: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/33-las-vegan-beer-fest/

[38] 34) Vegan Fish Sauce: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/34-vegan-fish-sauce/

[39] 35) Vegan Cupcakes Take Over Toronto: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/35-vegan-cupcakes-take-over-toronto/

[40] 36) Traditional Pickling : http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/36-traditional-pickling/

[41] 37) Spherification & Pearls: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/37-spherification-pearls/

[42] 38) Treeline Treenut Cheese: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/38-treeline-treenut-cheese/

[43] 39) Seitan Meats Jesus Pizza from PizzaNista : http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/39-seitan-meats-jesus-pizza-from-pizzanista/

[44] 40) Tea Leaf Salad at Burma Superstar: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/40-tea-leaf-salad-at-burma-superstar/

[45] 41) Patric Chocolate’s PB&J OMG bar: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/41-patric-chocolates-pbj-omg-bar/

[46] 42) Vegan Food On Buzzfeed : http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/42-vegan-food-on-buzzfeed/

[47] 43) Nooch Vegan Market: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/43-nooch-vegan-market/

[48] 44) Twix from OCD : http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/44-twix-from-ocd/

[49] 45) Daiya Havarti Wedge: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/45-daiya-havarti-wedge/

[50] 46) Native Foods: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/46-native-foods/

[51] 47) Butternut Alfredo: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/47-butternut-alfredo/

[52] 48) Nut butters in baking: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/48-nut-butters-in-baking/

[53] 49) Vegan Butter: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/49-vegan-butter/

[54] 50) Funny pasta shapes from Amazon: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/50-funny-pasta-shapes-from-amazon/

[55] 51) Porcini powder: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/51-porcini-powder/

[56] 52) Homemade Syrups for Drinks : http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/52-homemade-syrups-for-drinks/

[57] 53) Steve’s Cinnamon Coffee Ice Cream : http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/53-steves-cinnamon-coffee-ice-cream/

[58] 54) M.A.K.E., Santa Monica: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/54-m-a-k-e-santa-monica/

[59] 55) Butchering A Lemon: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/55-butchering-a-lemon/

[60] 56) Vega One: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/56-vega/

[61] 57) Homemade Kombucha: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/57-homemade-kombucha/

[62] 58) Moscow Mule: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/58-moscow-mule/

[63] 59) Toasted Rice Powder: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/59-toasted-rice-powder/

[64] 60) Star Anise: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/60-star-anise/

[65] 61) A Profound Hatred of Meat: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/61-a-profound-hatred-of-meat/

[66] 62) Keepin’ It Kind: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/62-keepin-it-kind/

[67] 63) Mac And Cheese With Roasted Artichokes at MOB: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/63-mac-and-cheese-with-roasted-artichokes-at-mob/

[68] 64) Compost: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/64-compost/

[69] 66) Pretzels In My Ice Cream (Ideally After Midnight): http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/66-pretzels-in-my-ice-cream-ideally-after-midnight/

[70] 67) Vintage Spatula: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/67-vintage-spatula/

[71] 68) Coconut Fiber: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/68-coconut-fiber/

[72] 69) Chopped Vegan: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/69-chopped-vegan/

[73] 70) Cookbooks From The Library: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/70-cookbooks-from-the-library/

[74] 71) Manifest Vegan’s Ube Ice Cream: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/71-manifest-vegans-ube-ice-cream/

[75] 72) Coconut Oil: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/72-coconut-oil/

[76] 73) Smoked Olives: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/73-smoked-olives/

[77] 74) Green Vegan App: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/74-green-vegan-app/

[78] 75) Capital City Bakery, Austin TX: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/75-capital-city-bakery-austin-tx/

[79] 76) No Whey Chocolates: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/76-no-whey/

[80] 77) Vegan Butterfingers: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/77-vegan-butterfingers/

[81] 78) Bánh Mì: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/78-banh-mi/

[82] 79) Crushing Seeds In A Garlic Press: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/79-crush-seeds-in-a-garlic-press/

[83] 80) Homemade Kimchi (Or Not): http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/80-homemade-kimchi/

[84] 81) Victoria Vegan Vodka Sauce: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/81-victoria-vegan-vodka-sauce/

[85] 82) Archived Vegetarian Times: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/82-archived-vegetarian-times/

[86] 84) Raw White Chocolate Bar by Organic Nectars: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/84-raw-white-chocolate-bar-by-organic-nectars/

[87] 85) My Drunk Kitchen does Raw Vegan Cheesecake: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/85-my-drunk-kitchen-does-raw-vegan-cheesecake/

[88] 86) The Vegan Zombie: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/86-the-vegan-zombie/

[89] 87) Potato Towers: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/87-potato-towers/

[90] 88) 50 Shades of Kale: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/88-50-shades-of-kale/

[91] 89) Carrot Bacon: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/89-carrot-bacon/

[92] 90) Olives For Dinner: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/90-olives-for-dinner/

[93] 91) Vegan Chocolate Hazelnut Spread: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/91-vegan-chocolate-hazelnut-spread/

[94] 92) Homegrown Kale (Scattered Kale Seeds): http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/92-homegrown-kale-scattered-kale-seeds/

[95] 93) Vedge Restaurant, Philly: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/93-vedge-restaurant-philly/

[96] 94) Vegan Richa: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/94-vegan-richa/

[97] 95) Blissful Chef’s Cooking Tool of the Month: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/95-cooking-tool-of-the-month/

[98] 96) Pumpkin Pie Filled Muffins: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/96-pumpkin-pie-filled-muffins/

[99] 97) Aliens Day Out: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/97-aliens-day-out/

[100] 98) Food Mountain: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/98-food-mountain/

[101] 99) Re-purposing Non-Vegan Kitchen Utensils: http://www.theppk.com/2013-ppk-100/99-re-purposing-non-vegan-kitchen-utensils/

[102] Raven & Crow: http://kindness.ravenandcrowstudio.com/

[103] Lagusta’s Luscious: http://www.lagustasluscious.com/shop/

[104] Quarrygirl: http://quarrygirl.tumblr.com/

[105] SuperVegan: http://supervegan.com/

[106] Sarah’s Place: http://www.sarahsplace.com/

[107] OurHenHouse: http://www.ourhenhouse.com/

[108] Vegan Latina: http://veganlatina.com/

[109] Vegans on the Move: http://vegansonthemove.wordpress.com/

[110] Mo Betta Vegan: http://mobettavegan.blogspot.com/

[111] Get Sconed: http://comesconewithme.com/

[112] Voute Coutre: http://vautecouture.com/

[113] Veg News: http://vegnews.com/

[114] Laziest Vegans In The World: http://www.laziestvegans.com/

[115] Seabirds Truck: http://seabirdstruck.com/

Copyright © 2011 Post Punk Kitchen - Vegan Recipes & Awesomeness. All rights reserved.